Diversity and Inclusion

Colorful rectangles against blue sky with clouds

A culture of respect

The Department of Anesthesiology is committed to equality, fairness, and a culture of respect in our working and learning environments. These values are inseparable from our missions. At the core of our current work is a series of department-wide discussions about our shared realities and lived experiences, guided by our Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force. The goal is to assure a sustained, focused effort on inclusive practices.

The task force is co-chaired by Dr. Maya Jalbout Hastie and Dr. Allison Lee. Dr. Lee is the department's Officer of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and a member of the Columbia University Irving Medical Center's Task Force for Addressing Structural Racism. Dr. Hastie, Dr. Lee, and other departmental and institutional colleagues are recipients of seed grant funds awarded in the fall of 2020 by the Columbia University Office of the Provost:

"Understanding and Responding to Racial Microaggressions in the Theatre of the Oppressed," Allison Lee, Desmond Jordan, Maya Jalbout Hastie.

“Targeting Provider Bias to Advance Health Equity in Maternal Care," Allison Lee and Janice Aubey.

"Anti-Racism in the Intensive Care Unit at Columbia University Medical Center: Evaluation of our Current State and a Journey to Make the Uncomfortable Comfortable," Vivek Moitra, Jonathan Hastie, Beth Hochman.

Residents and fellows in our educational programs are invited to monthly seminars conducted by the Columbia University Irving Medical Center/NewYork Presbyterian GME Task Force on Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging. The seminars promote values of equity and anti-racism, provide opportunities for mentorship, networking, and career development, and support members of the campus community who identify as underrepresented minorities based on race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, socioeconomic class, disability, or religion.

Diversity and Inclusion News

September 8, 2021: DEI Task Force participates in antiracism workshop

August 18, 2021: CUMC Anesthesiology meets students from CUNY Pipeline Program

July 29, 2021: Dr. Brian A. Chang, CA-2, Publishes Viewpoint in ASA Monitor

Faculty Activities

The Department of Anesthesiology faculty advocate for the principles of diversity, equity, and inclusivity in faculty development, and in regional and national committee work in the field. Some of our activities are as follows.

Anesthesiology Faculty Development:
Maya Jalbout Hastie, MD, EdD, and Danielle B. Ludwin, MD, Co-directors of Faculty Development and Career Enhancement; Robert A. Whittington, MD, Vice Chair for Faculty Development.

Faculty Professional Development, Diversity and Inclusion at Columbia University Irving Medical Center:
Robert A. Whittington, MD, Assistant Dean for Academic Development, Faculty Diversity and Inclusion.

Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP):
Allison Lee, MD, Diversity and Inclusion Officer, Chair of the SOAP Diversity & Inclusion Committee.

Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA):
Maya Jalbout Hastie, MD, EdD, Chair, Leadership Advisory Board, focused on diversity and inclusion mentorship and fostering leadership in academic anesthesiology. Allison Lee, MD, Member, AUA Leadership Advisory Board.

Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesia and Critical Care:
Paul Garcia, MD, PhD, Chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee.


  • Allison Lee, MD

  • Maya Hastie, MD, EdD

  • Desmond Jordan, MD

  • Robert Whittington, MD

  • Jonathan Hastie, MD

  • Vivek Moitra, MD

  • Danielle Ludwin, MD