Fellow Dr. Brian Chang named Physician of the Year

April 11, 2023

Congratulations to Brian Chang, MD, a critical care fellow in the Department of Anesthesiology, one of NYP’s 2023 Physicians of the Year!

Brian Chang, MD

The award is presented annually by the Department of Nursing at NYP. It recognizes the physicians who help clinical teams to attain the highest standards of care by working collaboratively with their nursing colleagues. “Exceptional patient care requires input from all the team members, and the lessons that I have learned working alongside my nursing colleagues have transformed me into the physician that I am today,” says Dr. Chang.

“I enjoy the opportunity to exchange ideas, particularly when working in the SICU and CTICU, where we manage very medically complex patients. Most conflict occurs when there is not open communication and when team members are not listening to one another. When people on the team do not feel heard or feel comfortable sharing their opinions, this...leads to frustration and anger. My advice to our incoming resident class is to be humble and to always be an active listener.”

Related: Dr. Chang published this editorial in the ASA Monitor when he was in his second year of clinical residency, reflecting on the health inequities laid bare during the 2020 COVID crisis.  

Since 2018, the “Physician of the Year” has been awarded four times to members of the Department of Anesthesiology:

2023: Dr. Brian Chang, Clinical Fellow

2021: Dr. Gebhard Wagener, Professor of Anesthesiology

2020: Dr. Cortessa Russell, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology

2018: Dr. Rebecca Martinez, House Staff Physician