Paul Garcia, MD, PhD

Board Certifications: 
Accepting New Patients


Academic Appointments

  • Associate Professor of Anesthesiology

Administrative Titles

  • Division Chief of Neuroanesthesia

Hospital Affiliations

  • NewYork-Presbyterian / Columbia University Irving Medical Center


  • Male

Schedule an Appointment

Connect Patient Portal

For existing patients, login to make an appointment, view documentation or contact your care provider.

Connect Sign In

Insurance Accepted


  • Aetna Signature Administrators
  • EPO
  • HMO
  • Medicare Managed Care
  • NYP Employee Plan
  • NY Signature
  • POS
  • PPO
  • Student Health


  • Medicare Managed Care
  • Special Needs

Capital District Physician Health Plan

  • Capital District Physician Health Plan


  • EPO
  • Great West (National)
  • HMO
  • POS
  • PPO


  • Medicare Managed Care
  • PPO

Empire Blue Cross/Blue Shield

  • EPO
  • Medicare Managed Care
  • PPO

Health Insurance Plan of NY (HIP)

  • ConnectiCare
  • EPO
  • Essential Plan
  • HMO
  • Medicaid Managed Care
  • Medicare Managed Care
  • POS
  • PPO
  • Select Care (Exchange)
  • Vytra

Local 1199

  • Local 1199

MagnaCare (National)

  • MagnaCare


  • Traditional Medicare

MVP Health Care

  • Child/Family Health Plus
  • Essential Plan
  • HMO
  • Medicaid Managed Care

Oxford Health Plans

  • Freedom
  • Liberty

United Health Care

  • Columbia Employee POS
  • Compass (Exchange)
  • HMO
  • Medicaid (Community Plan)
  • Medicare Managed Care
  • POS
  • PPO

*Please contact the provider’s office directly to verify that your particular insurance is accepted.

Credentials & Experience

Education & Training

  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Emory University School of Medicine
  • Residency: Emory University Hospital

Board Certifications

  • Anesthesiology

Honors & Awards

  • Teaching Award, CUMC Neuroanesthesia Division; June 2019 (awarded by anesthesiology residents)
  • Outstanding Research Faculty of Emory School of Medicine. Presented on Researcher Appreciation Day; September 2017
  • Best Abstract, Clinical Neurosciences, American Society of Anesthesiologists Annual Meeting, Chicago; October 2016
  • Nomination and Induction as Active Member into Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA); December 2015
  • Emory University School of Medicine Faculty Award, "Hidden Gem", Celebration of Faculty Excellence Ceremony; October 2015, in appreciation of mentoring students and residents in scholarship.
  • Best Abstract, Experimental Neurosciences, American Society of Anesthesiologists Annual Meeting, San Diego; October 2015
  • Featured Poster Presentation, 4th Annual Science of Graduate Medical Education Day, Emory University School of Medicine; June 2013
  • Mentor Award, Systems-Based Learning Project for Emory Anesthesiology Residents; June 2012.
  • Featured Abstract, 65th PGA of the New York State Society of Anesthesiologists. Oral presentation in a Best Abstracts of the Meeting session; December 2011.
  • Top 5% User Accessed Review, Faculty of 1000,; 2011.
  • Top 10% User Accessed Review, Faculty of 1000,; 2010, 2012.
  • Resident Research, Third Place Winner. American Society of Anesthesiology Annual Meeting. New Orleans; October 2009
  • Best Abstract, Honorable Mention. Research was recognized at the International Society for Anaesthetic Pharmacology. New Orleans; October 2009
  • First Place for Resident Research, 62nd PGA, New York State Society of Anesthesiologists; December 2008
  • FAER / Abbott Resident Scholar, American Society of Anesthesiology; 2008.
  • Medical Student Research Fellow, Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research; 2005
  • President’s Fellowship, Georgia Institute of Technology; 1999 – 2004
  • Outstanding Mentor Award, Research Experience for Undergraduates Program, Georgia Institute of Technology. Recognized for mentoring of undergraduate students in research; May 2000.
  • National Hispanic Scholar Award; 1991 – 1995
  • Thomas J. Watson Scholarship, IBM; 1991 – 1995
  • Inductee, Tau Beta Pi, Engineering Honors Society; 1993
  • Inductee, Eta Kappa Nu, Electrical Engineering Honors Society; 1993


Selected Publications